Morning Hope Rising, Part 9

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
4 min readFeb 26, 2018

As the brown-eyed warrior slid the two vials out from behind the loose stone on the hearth, his lady locked the cottage door after throwing the peelings and seeds from the sun seal tree fruit out. He could hear her giggling at the secret hiding place.

As he juggled the two vials in his right hand, he felt the ring from the prior evening jiggling in his pocket.

“Alright, my lady. Let’s do this on the union furs. There are two vials. Both last the length of time it takes for two candles to burn.”

As he was speaking, she sighed, bounded over, and lay down.

“I have two versions. The vial with the green lid is a mild version; pretty much just makes whoever it’s been given to go into a half-sleep and not remember what happens to them. The vial with the red is horrific; it’s the one that traps the person and they see and hear everything but just can’t respond. We know they work on those who don’t have chee-chin access because of the frame healers that inserted themselves where those potions are used.”

She nodded.

“Which… first,” she stammered. The chee-chin and came over and laid by the union furs; three draped across her feet and ankles.

“I’m not sure. I was hoping you would have an answer.”

She sighed, closed her eyes, and began breathing like she was going to do a War God exercise.

“Anything?”

She sighed. “Not much. Feeling like your call.”

He still felt the ring in his pocket as he moved to the edge of the union furs. He wanted to give the ring to her in case his body couldn’t tolerate the DeadLife potions. “Snowcat, close your eyes.”

As she giggled and covered her green starry eyes with her hands, he dug the ring out of his pocket and sat on the union furs with his back against the wall. He cupped the ring in both hands. “Okay, come on over, and look me in the eye. I want to make sure we’re good just in case…”

Her hands dropped suddenly; she jerked, scattering the chee-chin. “No. Not go.” Her eyes began to brim, and she began to shake.

He sighed again, cursing some of the heart changes that weren’t yet healed. “No, Snowcat. It’s not that I expect anything to go wrong. But there’s always a chance. A bad potion could kill me, my own body could react poorly like that village that lost a whole family to a bad batch of DeadLife Nightmare. Just kneel here by me and look at me with those eyes.”

She took a few breaths, slowed her body, and knelt submissively at his side. As she did, he opened his cupped hands and began to speak, “Something in you has drawn me from the moment I saw you at town. I begged all my gods to send you to me, never dreaming we’d have that night at the lake, never dreaming I’d have your girls as daughters, never dreaming of your strength with tenderness. This ring is a symbol of my continued love and desire for our union, with every breath until your War God or my So/un God takes my last breath.”

Her eyes widened. “It’s… Eternal Lake… stone… War God green… star… hot…”

He dropped his jaw. She wouldn’t take it; she just stared in awe.

“How… get… rare… almost… forbidden… wearing…”

He was stunned again. He took the ring in his right hand and clasped her hand with his left. He slid the ring on the finger some outlands claim indicates a woman belongs to a man, knowing this woman gave herself freely and belonged only to her god.

He opened his mouth as she got small and silent. “I’m not sure how I got it. I’d asked a few questions through my contacts, sent just a moon cycle’s pay, and it arrived last night. I’d hoped it would celebrate a renewal of our union.”

“Should… pay… cycle of cycles… 50… more…”

He was stunned again. “Maybe it’s the War God’s way of telling you you’re okay?”

She absently nodded.

“Guess if the War God has a secret green, let’s start with the green capped vial.”

She giggled again, “Stupid… Stuperstition…”

As he fumbled with the cap, he said, “Once I take this, let’s prop up the pillows. I’ll lay on my back, and you put your head on my chest. If all is well at sunset, we… I will do the red cap.”

She nodded as she piled pillows. He swallowed the vial’s contents. He laid his body down, and she came in beside him, putting her head on his chest. The chee-chin circled the union furs. Five lay across their entangled feet.

“How will we tell… if you’re affected… if things look okay?”

He sighed, “When the sun gets to its highest point, sing me five random songs in the old language. At sunset, have me list the songs.”

“Excellent. Almost like a warrior.”

He snorted. “Okay, snowcat. Hold me; let me hold you. Let’s just enjoy being together.”

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)