No (Eye) Contact

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readApr 3, 2017

Author’s Note: This is reprinted and revised with my permission from my original blog at https://kittiephoenixromans08.wordpress.com/2015/11/15/no-eye-contact/.

Don’t look at me. Don’t make me look at you.

Your actions scream over the whisper of your words.

The hypocrisy roars over the silence of the minority.

I can’t look. You will see the fire of defiance.

The blazing scarlet burns with a heat you won’t bear to bear in me.

If I don’t let you see my eyes…

You don’t see me, you can’t touch me, you won’t hurt me.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)