St. Patrick’s Breastplate, a la Protestant Style, Part 2

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
2 min readJun 7, 2016

I arise today, through
The strength of heaven,
The light of the sun,
The radiance of the moon,
The splendor of fire,
The speed of lightning,
The swiftness of wind,
The depth of the sea,
The stability of the earth,
The firmness of rock.

This is a tough part. It depends on how literal you take things. If you’re truly literal, this may feel like you’re invoking nature.

However, if you think in analogies, this is a beautiful summary of the qualities Christians are called to have:

  • Strength: Ephesians 6:10
  • Shining light (sun, moon): Philippians 2:14–16
  • Passion, ardor (fire): Psalm 42 (shows a depth of deep emotion from hunger for God to sorrow), Matthew 5:6
  • Obedience: 1 Samuel 15:22
  • Depth: Philippians 1:8–10
  • Stability: James 1:6–8
  • Firmness: Luke 21:17–19

I arise today, through
God’s strength to pilot me,
God’s might to uphold me,
God’s wisdom to guide me,
God’s eye to look before me,
God’s ear to hear me,
God’s word to speak for me,
God’s hand to guard me,
God’s shield to protect me,
God’s host to save me
From snares of devils,
From temptation of vices,
From everyone who shall wish me ill, afar and near.

I’d always been taught that God loves it when we ask Him to change our hearts instead of our circumstances. Throughout this section, the author has asked for many character qualities (some directly in imitation of God the Father) in addition to some promised protections.

  • God’s strength: Ephesians 6:10 (so good it can be used more than once)
  • God’s might: Ephesians 6:10 (once, twice, three times a Truth! )
  • God’s wisdom: James 1:5
  • God to see me: Psalm 33:18–19
  • God to hear me: Psalm 6:8–10
  • God to speak for me: Luke 21:13–15
  • God’s hand over me: Isaiah 49:14–16
  • God as a shield for me: Psalm 28:7–8
  • God’s angels to protect me: Psalm 91:11–12
  • Protection against the enemy: Ephesians 6:10–18 (admittedly, there is some action required on the part of the recipient of protection)
  • Protection from temptation: 1 Corinthians 10:13
  • Protection from humans: Psalm 91:5–7

Originally published at kittiephoenixromans08.wordpress.com on June 7, 2016.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)