St. Patrick’s Breastplate, a la Protestant Style, Part 3

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
2 min readJun 8, 2016

I summon today
All these powers between me and those evils,
Against every cruel and merciless power
that may oppose my body and soul,
Against incantations of false prophets,
Against black laws of pagandom,
Against false laws of heretics,
Against craft of idolatry,
Against spells of witches and smiths and wizards,
Against every knowledge that corrupts man’s body and soul;
Christ to shield me today
Against poison, against burning,
Against drowning, against wounding,
So that there may come to me an abundance of reward.

I did warn you for this series I was going back to my Christian roots. I do apologize if the Truth offends. However, some of the points can be made from the Old Testament, which is shared by devout Jews and as I understand Muslims as well. (Please, feel free to comment if you’re a devout Muslim reading this.)

The first four lines are clearly covered by Romans 8:31–39. I’d covered all of Romans 8 in a few very early posts on this blog (referring to my WordPress blog, https://kittiephoenixromans08.wordpress.com/). I am still in mad, passionate, drooling love with Romans 8. Every protection of Christ and His Love is promised in this passage.

The following list includes scripture indicating why the author of the prayer would ask for protection against the types of people and sins they commit:

  • False Prophets: Deuteronomy 13:1–5
  • Pagans: 1 Corinthians 10:19–21 (CJB)
  • Heretics: 2 Peter 2:1–3 (NKJV)
  • Idolatry: Deuteronomy 4:15–19
  • Witches, wizards, and the like: Deuteronomy 18:9–13
  • Corrupting knowledge: 2 Corinthians 10:3–5

Poison, drowning, burning, and wounding are all physical types of harm that can come to a person. Mark 16:17–18 directly mentions poison; it also mentions healing, which would cover wounding. Drowning and burning are referred to in Isaiah 43:2.

As for the abundance of reward, Psalm 23:5–6 speak of the abundance of reward those who love the Lord and trust Him for their care can expect.

Originally published at kittiephoenixromans08.wordpress.com on June 8, 2016.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)