Taking Stock

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readJun 4, 2017

Author’s Note: I’ve been afforded the opportunity to take up a completely different field. So like any good little writer and lifelong student, I’m plowing through.

But at the time I wrote this poem, I was struggling with words and terms meaning different things than I was used to. I also felt intellectually inadequate as I was trying to learn. (Yes, I know — it’s just a feeling.) And it was just after tax time.

So I played with both the new meanings and the more common connotations and denotations. I don’t stand by any denigration of my new field, nor do I make any assertions regarding my proper (mis)understanding and (mis)use.

And my blog is not registered with SEC or FINRA, nor do either of those entities approve or disapprove my blog. Anything you see here is not ever to be construed as financial advice, sound or furious. ;)

Long the stock hoping it will make a golden retirement.
Short the sale borrowing in hopes of increased future funds.

Give ’em a red herring to see if they’re interested
While you build their tombstone with a skeleton to woo the living dead.

Series 6 is more limited than Series 7
But Series 26 must rule them all.

Bonds explode when interest implodes.

Change your language to create a world
Where outsider normals are enslaved to dust and nothing.

In the end the government steals it all,
Ill-gotten gain for laziness and no effort,
Robbing the common, honest folks working themselves to an early grave.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)