The Desert Valley

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readApr 9, 2018

Author’s Note: This poem is based on a sermon given by our campus pastor on Ezekiel 37:1–14. Image modified from stock image at pexels.com.

I am standing at the mouth of a dry river valley surrounded by skeletons — it’s then and now.

Then

I was mute and lame,
Stumbling and slicing my heart
On the dry death surrounding me.
I ran.

Now

I sing and dance,
But I don’t know…
Can I breathe and blow against death?
Can I stand and be heard?

Then

I killed and was killed.
Silently screaming I spoke death
And added to the dead.
I shot my own in the back.

Now

I live and speak life.
Can I loudly wield the Spirit’s sword
To cut away death
And build life into those who would be dead?

Can I dance life to the prophecy of Ezekiel in a culture of death?

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)