Zippy’s Medium Takeover, #2

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
3 min readJun 14, 2017

*licking, slurping*

I’m a little confused.

Many nights ago, I had a problem. I kept smelling a bad spot in my favorite place to sleep. It almost made my hair stand up at times. I ran away every time I smelled it. I kept trying to tell my Mom it was a bad smell, but she just didn’t get it.

Then one morning, the place that made the smell got really bright and bad smelling. Mom grabbed my collar and dragged me out in the rain. I think she barked at her whelps and ‘On because they ran out in front of her.

My house got smellier, and there was too much brightness. I had to stay at my friend’s house. I can’t ever remember her name. Is it ‘Lee? She didn’t come out to play with me.

I had to watch lots of trucks and people come. They brought smellier stuff, and they made everything about my house smell even worse. It was cold and wet, and I couldn’t go back to my house.

Then some man came and got my whelps and me. We stayed at his place, and a lady took me to a place that had things for dogs and got me things.

Then two of the whelps took me to my friend ‘Ginz, but he wasn’t happy to see me. I tried to let him smell me, but he ran away and growled at me.

Then I had to go with the two whelps to another place. I don’t know if I liked that place or not. I couldn’t go anywhere in the house. I didn’t have my things. I didn’t even have my normal kibble.

We stayed many nights, and I never saw Mom and ‘On. They only came once or twice. I was scared. I licked my paws a lot because I was afraid they were mad at me because I caused the bright, smelly thing or because I didn’t tell them about the bright, smelly thing. Mom was always so tired and sad.

But then the two humans took me and the whelps to a new house. It wasn’t mine. Mom and ‘On were there, and they were so happy to see me. It has so many good places and so many good places that I’m not allowed to go. I even have rules about peeing and pooping, and I don’t know if I like it.

Finally, the third whelp joined us last night. Everyone’s together. They smell happy and sad and tired and scared all at once. Is it because of the bright smelly at the other house?

I thought the other house was a forever home. But I’m here now with Mom and ‘On and the whelps. Does that make this a new forever home? At least I have all the same people and don’t have to learn new people.

Note from Zippy’s Mom: By the time this publishes, we will be about six weeks out from a devastating house fire. All lives — two legged and four legged — got out. We have a temporary place to stay together. We will be in the process of rebuilding. I’m sure Zippy will make a post or two about some of the rules in the new place. I for one will have some new poetry to publish resulting from the fire. I’m really hoping to open July with an explosive series on the next installment of my warrior clan matriarch.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)