Going Global: Day one

Our journey of international expansion

Kendall Flutey
Kiwi Landing Pad
2 min readJan 24, 2017

--

Well I made it.

Getting mistaken for Eliza McCartney in the departure lounge started the trip off on a very good foot, and the empty seat next to me continued this through to the flight itself. I felt it only fitting for Snowdon to be my movie of choice, and was not disappointed. Going global is great.

To top it all off we landed half an hour earlier than scheduled, I was ushered straight through lane eight in customs, and was purchasing my Australian SIM before I knew it.

Which way to the city?

Opal card in hand, I boarded a train and eventually found my way to what will be my home for the next wee while. I approved of their art of choice that welcomed me.

Home sweet home, some familiar phrases to greet me in Sydney

It was a late night settling in, and waking up this morning it finally sunk in that it really is back to square one. Although slightly daunting, I only have to remember the moment we made our first sale in New Zealand to get excited about repeating all those wonderful milestones here in Australia. Better still, we have a lot more support than we did last time around. I really do feel the support of a nation behind us.

As for what day one holds, it’s currently business as usual with a slight yellow and gold filter to things. I am however having dinner with an assistant principal tonight so feel that’s as good a start as any.

My plan at this stage is to post weekly on our progress here in Australia. I’m not sure if this is going to become a resource for other Kiwi entrepreneurs, a progress report for my mum, or a personal record for me.

I guess we will see what unfolds.

--

--