EDL and ITD 2017

And how I celebrated this year

klaudia grochot-fraser
Speaking in tongues
2 min readOct 2, 2017

--

On the 30th of September, Saint Jerome’s feast day, we celebrate International Translation Day, this year officially declared by UN. Next to the European Day of Languages, 26th of September, celebrated by the European Commision and the EU, it is the most important day for language professionals. This year I:

Invested

my time in some interesting eCPD and attended four inspiring sessions of ProZ.com’s virtual conference. The most useful one to me was a joint session about Unique Selling Point by Tess Whitty, the author of Marketing Tips for Translators, Jo Rourke at Silver Tongue and Jonathan Downie from Integrity Languages. More about USP in my next blog post.

Downloaded

and started using MemoQ which so far has been a very enjoyable experience.

Explored

the hashtag #iconnectworlds on Twitter and read people’s stories about how their work connects people. Feels really good to be one of the facilitators of intercultural communication.

Registered and will be attending

the #TranslatingEurope Forum organised by The Translation Department of the European Commission in Brussels 6–7 November 2017. I am incredibly excited about it. (Booked my Eurostar train ticket as well, yay! Always wanted to try Eurostar).

Took

a day off in the middle of the week to reward myself. I have been working a lot recently and thought the quality of my work would profit from 24 hours offline. It did.

--

--

klaudia grochot-fraser
Speaking in tongues

Originally from Kraków, I speak Polish, Swedish, English, German and Portuguese. I live in London where I do lots of walking, singing and dreaming.