#TranslatingEurope Forum 2017

klaudia grochot-fraser
Speaking in tongues
2 min readDec 14, 2017

In November I had the pleasure to attend the Translating Europe Forum at the European Commission in Brussels. This year’s edition focused on “new skills, new markets and new profiles” in the translation industry.

Without attempting to summarise all sessions that inspired me, as there are lots of them and all still available to download here, I would like to highlight a few thoughts I agree with.

  • Human skills are interdisciplinary and will always remain the most desired skills.
  • Neural Machine Translation is not a threat. It boosts productivity.
  • A translator should be like a chameleon, able to adapt to the changing environment in which it finds itself.
  • What today’s world of cultural diversity needs is humans able to communicate. Translators’ and interpreters’ mission is to facilitate communication between cultures.
  • Curiosity, agility and an open mind are essential for succeeding as a language professional.

What I have learned is maybe nothing new. Yet, I still think an open discussion is what’s needed in the industry and this is what I had the chance to witness and be a part of.

My most popular tweet so far

--

--

klaudia grochot-fraser
Speaking in tongues

Originally from Kraków, I speak Polish, Swedish, English, German and Portuguese. I live in London where I do lots of walking, singing and dreaming.