Meet Benson, the Klaytn Biz Team Governance Manager

Klaytn
Klaytn
Published in
4 min readJun 1, 2021
Benson Quote

The interview with Benson, Manager of Klaytn governance, begins now.

Q. Hello Benson, please introduce yourself. Also, please briefly introduce what you are in charge of within the Klaytn Biz team.

A. Hello, This is Benson, in charge of Klaytn governance.
To add an additional explanation for those who are not familiar with the governance task, basically, blockchain platforms are oriented toward decentralization, so many key decisions are made by various stakeholders. For Klaytn, governance is built on approximately 30 (exactly 32) governance council members. Through the structure of the Governance Council, I plan and operate the key agenda for Klaytn.

Klaytn Governance Council

Q. I see, you’re in charge of a very important sector. I’m curious what kind of experience you had before joining Ground X and how you joined Ground X.

A. Yes, before joining the company, I worked at a huge automobile company. After that I also worked at a blockchain consultant company. The decisive reason for joining Ground X is that I believed I will be able to plan new things and directly engage in practical operations. Due to the nature of the consulting industry, we established strategies/plans for various client companies, but since then, we have not been able to directly monitor and engage in the implementation of the plan. If I work for Ground X, I thought that I could implement the work in the direction that I wanted to by directly encountering various tasks and projects related to Klaytn and Blockchain.

Q. In your opinion, what is one of the key skills you need most when working for Ground X?

A. I think the most important skill is self-directing. The blockchain field itself is not an industry equipped with much yet, so if you passively follow the set answer, you can’t achieve something that is in the beyond. You always have to think about the best ways to take the lead in handling all your tasks and be focused.
Secondly, communication skills are important. Internal communication occurs frequently because technology affects the business/governance sector a lot and governance/business planning affects technology.
Lastly, I think it’s the love for blockchain. The more interested we are in blockchain technology/service, the more we can change and innovate making a spectacular product.

Q. Can you introduce your know-how to work well as a governance manager at Ground X?

A. As I mentioned in the previous question, I think the most important skill is communication. Since blockchain governance itself is unfamiliar, it is not easy for key officials to understand and participate. To facilitate this, I think communication skills are needed to share more of each other’s thoughts and express opinions.

Q. Do you have a favorite welfare or culture that Ground X has?

A. I think the flexible work system is well established. Since the concentration hours for everyone varies, I think the best welfare is that you can work at the time you want.
Other than that, it’s all in the small details, but calling each other with English nicknames instead of honorifics also has a big impact on corporate culture. By using English nicknames, I can feel that the company wants to create an even horizontal structure rather than a vertical one.
Come to think of it, there are more to share.
As we are working remotely due to COVID19, all the meetings take place with video calls. The company doesn’t force anyone to turn on the camera. This makes the employees feel like the company trusts and respects us.

Q. What is your favorite service released by Ground X?

A. Compared to the service released by Ground X, Klaytn Mainnet, which I’m working on the most, is the most important and affectionate to me. But service-wise, I have the strongest affection for the newly released ‘KrafterSpace’ among all. If you go and use the service, you can see all the NFTs I posted.

Q. I want to know what you enjoy during your free time!

A. I like to play games, Mostly play Nintendo Switch, PlayStation, etc. I also play blockchain games, but I haven’t found a game that is totally my type yet. Recently, I bought racing wheels, pedals, and chairs in a full set, So that I can play games related to driving at home. Recently, I’ve been collecting NFT as a hobby lately. I recently bought about 1–3 paintings among NFTs, and I’m interested in pop art and digital art compared to traditional art.

Q. Last question. What do you want to say to your future team members who want to join Ground X?

A. Every day is a series of new challenges when you come to Ground X. If you are ready to enjoy the challenge, I can courageously tell you that you will be the best team member to work with. Come join us!

View open positions at Ground X:
https://www.groundx.xyz/careers

Go follow our Socials!

Official Global Community: t.me/Klaytn_EN
Twitter: https://twitter.com/klaytn_official
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/klaytn.official/
Medium: https://medium.com/klaytn
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/klaytn/
Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/klaytn/
Webpage: https://www.klaytn.com/

Subscribe to the Official Klaytn Newsletter for up to the minute updates: https://klaytn.us4.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=a1893dedc846c5c88f661b255&id=6191c99952

GroundX: https://www.groundx.xyz/
Klaytn:
https://www.klaytn.com/

--

--