DAY 22 OF 30 OF THE APRIL RELATIONSHIP WRITING CHALLENGE

A Poem About Spiritual Oneness And Being Mentally Independent

A poetic take on Susie’s challenge for today

--

Photo by Simon Wilkes on Unsplash

I’ll admit something truly embarrassing. I read Susie’s challenge today and had no idea how I was going to respond. I must’ve spent an hour just reading that prompt alone. I was like the statement makes sense but what am I going to do here to respond to it?

I do realize that in a relationship, especially marriage, it is a bond of spirits. I also understand that people are going to be mentally independent as well. You can’t both think exactly alike. Then I was like, oh, I think that the best way to come to a way to describe this feeling and phenomenon is to write it in a more symbolic way.

In a more poetic and abstract way as opposed to just writing roughly 500 words about something that can be described with much fewer words and much less time. It is National Poetry Month after all and I have been writing more poetry lately. This will definitely be a fun and entertaining exercise.

We Are Two Minds Merged With One Spirit (Free Verse)

The moment I met you, dear
Your spirit combined with mine
I felt our two spirits become one
Our spirits intertwined to merge into something beautiful

Our journey through the cosmos
We were aimlessly wandering thinking
We’ve always thought deeply leading to each other
We have become one but our minds still create separately

We are together but our minds can also work together
We can decide for ourselves too after all
Do we have enough power to try to jolt them together?
We feel the energy buzzing because of our connection

We do not need to fear this feeling of two
Our love continues to bind us as one as the years go on
Our minds, although similar, stay connected and will collaborate
It’s the love, the energy, and the spirits that allow this to be perfect

Deb Palmer, Karen Schwartz, Ruby Noir, Denise Kendig, Keeley Schroder, Marlana, MSW, and Susie Winfield

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Klearance Cannabis Collection

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.