Better late than never.

My finished pool.

Not the kind related to billiards.

Robert Shaneyfelt
Klearance Cannabis Collection
2 min readAug 27, 2024

--

My gunite pool with waterfall water feature.
The author took the photo.

I just finished doing 26 lengths in my new pool, shorter than my community pool, which is shorter than an Olympic-sized pool. But it is half past midnight, and I don’t have to compete for space with anyone.

I got the idea for this project back in April.

The best-laid plans of mice and men. — Robert Burns

The phrase “the best-laid plans of mice and men” essentially means that no matter how well-prepared one may feel, their plans may still fall apart due to circumstances outside their control.

In North Texas this year, we had extreme weather. Hurricane-force winds. (Hurricane-force winds are winds exceeding 74 mph (ca. 119 km/h).) flooding, accompanied by so much rain that pool excavation could not progress.

It was almost mid-June before my pool excavation began.

My dog. Leary to jump in the pool.
My dog. Leary to jump in the pool. Photo by the author.

It is now almost the end of August, and I finally went for a swim. My consolation is that my pool includes a neater which will allow a water temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit (ca. 30 °C) throughout the winter…

--

--

Robert Shaneyfelt
Klearance Cannabis Collection

I received my Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from Trine University. “To write about life first, you must live it.” - Ernest Hemingway