DAY 24 OF 30 OF THE APRIL RELATIONSHIP WRITING CHALLENGE

My Partner and I Show Each Other Respect As Often As Possible

How can there be love where there is no respect?

--

Photo by Domo . on Unsplash

Mike and I have accomplished things separately and together. No matter what those things have been, we have always shown each other the deserved respect and appreciation for those things. I would never disrespect my man to anyone. He is a good person and I love him.

Mike’s the same as me in that regard. I’ve never heard him publicly disrespect me except in jest. Obviously, I joke too, so sometimes we have fun with it but for the most part, we are very respectful of each other and to each other. If I ever heard anyone disrespecting my partner in public, I would have to stop them and tell them politely not to do that.

I’ve never had it go further than that but if they didn’t listen, there would probably be problems between the person who is doing it and myself. I know that there is no question that Mike would kick someone’s ass in a heartbeat if they repeatedly disrespected me in front of him. There would be no question.

Mike is passionate and he’s a fighter. He also fights for what’s fair and fights for the ones he loves. I love and respect him for that as well. He isn’t one to back down from a fight. Sometimes I have to be the one to pull him away, especially if it happens in front of me too, and isn’t worth it in my eyes. I would rather have a not-jailed partner than someone getting beat up over disrespecting me unless it threatens us or our livelihood, then I might even join in.

Respect plays a huge part in our lives on so many levels from the way we talk to each other to the way we compose ourselves. Obviously, we’re not perfect and I’ve made the mistake of accidentally disrespecting my partner and vice versa but we have to keep the line of communication open to continue the dialogue and to understand each other.

After all, we are working together and not apart and if we are apart on what constitutes respect, then we can’t fight those battles properly when they come. Also, I feel like respect is a prerequisite for a relationship. Not just respect for your partner, but respect for others, respect for yourself, and respect where and when it matters.

If you can’t understand what respect looks like in everyday life, you’re not just going to suddenly turn that on when you’re with your partner and in a relationship. People who don’t respect each other in a relationship just shouldn’t be together and that’s a fact.

Deb Palmer, Karen Schwartz, Ruby Noir, Denise Kendig, Keeley Schroder, Marlana, MSW, and Susie Winfield

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Klearance Cannabis Collection

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.