The Pressure Cooker Has Been A Huge Help at the Campground

We’ve used it more than a few times and it’s very useful so that we don’t have to make so many trips to the store

--

Photo by Katherine Chase on Unsplash

Yeah, this is the third story I’ve written now in which I feature my wonderful Instant Pot. It’s been that much of an investment for us as of late considering that we’re plugged in at a campground and we can cook with it as much as we need to.

For the pressure cooker this week, we have pasta that we’re about to cook. We also have some soup that we’re planning on cooking tomorrow. We bought a bunch of drumsticks from the store and the pressure cooker will help cook out all of the flavors of the drumsticks into the broth and make a delicious broth. We also plan to make rice with it and many other dishes to keep us filled until we leave next Monday morning.

Before we started camping again, we hadn’t really used the pressure cooker much. We had planned on doing it to save money so we don’t go out to eat. We still kept finding ways to slip out money for takeout orders and dine-in at restaurants.

This last month we have been really good because I found the will to finally wash the pot and cook our first dish in there at the beginning of our camping trip. We just let the chicken out of the freezer and will put it in the pressure cooker once we’re ready to start making our soup.

We also got a ton of vegetables including mushrooms, tomatoes, broccoli, cabbage, potatoes, and bell peppers for our soup as well. I also insisted on buying cornstarch to help thicken what I imagine will be a watery broth because of all of the water-filled vegetables we will be putting in there.

We don’t really have a recipe in mind but Mike and I are both adept at cooking and feel has always served us well in the past. I think that the soup that we’ll make tomorrow will turn out delicious and have all sorts of great flavors. The other reason that I know this is because I bought some cajun seasoning along with some turmeric the last time we were at the store.

I want some spice and I definitely achieved that with my last two seasoning selections. We managed to get enough food for about 10 days and spent only under $250. I think that I did a great job for a family of two grown men at that price.

We have both had plenty to eat and our $150 Instant Pot is definitely getting a workout this week. We are really only just beginning to discover all of the great features our pressure cooker has to offer us. We haven’t used any of the other settings yet but I know that our instant pot is so versatile, we could practically use it for every meal.

We’ll even get to do it when we leave the campground and get on the road. Now that we have an extra refrigerator, we can store so much more fresh food and that will definitely always be helpful to find ingredients to mix into any recipe in our Instant Pot.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Klearance Cannabis Collection

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.