DAY 18 OF 30 OF THE APRIL RELATIONSHIP WRITING CHALLENGE

Thinking About A Future Theme Wedding With My Partner

Would we have one or are we just going to do something more traditional?

--

Photo by anthony renovato on Unsplash

Yeah, I thought about traditional for maybe 5 seconds. Then I was like, a theme wedding really would be cool. I don’t know if I could resist passing up doing something fun like that for our future wedding. I asked Mike earlier today if he liked the idea of a theme wedding and he said he wasn’t sure. Neither was I.

I was thinking if it was something connected to our relationship enough then it might work. We both like Outlander but I don’t think that we could do an Outlander wedding unless Mike dressed up like Lord John Grey and I would get to be Jamie. I mean, technically Mike is the ginger, maybe we could reverse that. Maybe as I was typing that, I convinced myself a little stronger on that.

I asked Mike about a possible World of Warcraft wedding but he said that as much as he loves that game, he’d probably pass on doing something like that. Neither one of us was into Game of Thrones, although we could do a South Park-themed Game of Thrones wedding. On second thought, one of us dressing as Princess Kenny disturbs me just a bit.

A South Park-themed wedding doesn’t actually sound that bad though. Maybe I could be Randy Marsh, I mean ya, ya, ya I am Lorde. Or Mike and I could be Tweek and Craig. I mean, that could definitely be fun but then I think there’s probably only one more wedding that makes complete sense.

We’ve got to be bears. Like how we always call each other “Bear” or “Bear-ito”. We could dress up in nice suits, preferably something close to a bear’s fur, maybe brown or white suits, and then wear bear heads at the altar. I mean it’d be hard to kiss each other with those heads on when the time comes but the photos would be fun. And we could even make bear sounds from a speaker when we’re doing our vows. Then have like honey and fish at the reception.

Maybe I’m taking this idea a bit too far but this all sounds very fun. And it would bring the natural wedding planner out in me. So, are we going to have a themed wedding or not? I mean, come on. All of these ideas sound pretty fun. I don’t think that I could think about a more traditional wedding now at this point. Plus, we’re gay, traditional is so 1993.

Susie Winfield, this was such a fun prompt to do on your wedding anniversary with Deon. Happy Anniversary to you two!! I had such fun doing this one even though we haven’t had our wedding yet. It was also fun reading about your own wedding in response to this.

Deb Palmer, Karen Schwartz, Ruby Noir, Denise Kendig, Keeley Schroder, Marlana, MSW, and Susie Winfield

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Klearance Cannabis Collection

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.