Cole’s Curry

Klipsun Magazine
Klipsun Magazine
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2019

A vegan recipe for non-vegans

Story and illustration by Cole Sandhofer

This spicy veggie-filled concoction proves going vegan doesn’t have to be a bland miserable experience. A magical masala masterpiece sure to please anyone, vegan or not.

I begin by bringing a pot of water, salted to the salinity of the sea, to a nice rolling boil. The potatoes then enter their salty bath, which I cover and cook over medium heat for about 15 minutes.

While the potatoes become tender, I heat vegetable oil over medium heat in my trusty cast-iron skillet. I add a diced onion and three cloves of minced garlic, cooking until the onion becomes translucent. Seasoning generously with two tablespoons of cumin, salt and cayenne pepper, and four tablespoons of curry powder and garam masala — the aroma is tantalizing.

At this point the recipe calls for the cooked potatoes, peeled and cubed, and a can of each: garbanzo beans (drained and rinsed), peas (drained), diced tomatoes and coconut milk. My can opener decides that it is no longer opening cans, reminding me that tool construction is the basis for most modern forms of anger.

My onions are browning at this point and I desperately need to get the contents of these cans into my pan. I’m able to create two small slits on either side of the lid by repeatedly punching it with the can opener and then bending it up world’s strongest man style. It is quite the event, but undeniably worth it.

I let the curry simmer for at least 20 minutes, and serve over rice. By pressing the rice into a measuring cup, it comes out looking like I give a shit and tastes like I actually know what I’m doing.

CHECK OUT THE STORY BEHIND THE RECIPE HERE.

--

--

Klipsun Magazine
Klipsun Magazine

Klipsun is an award-winning student magazine of Western Washington University