Account takeover in cups.mail.ru

kminthein
qwerty
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2020

In this year April 1, I quit my job due to some reason and so I can spend some times in Hackerone. I stopped finding bugs in 2018 because I have insecurity for my skills and I feels I don’t have enough skill set to deep dive into full-time bug hunting and so I tried to learn infra pentest, binary exploitation, source code analysis and some lesser know web attack ..etc. In April 8th, I started digging into Mailru program on Hackerone and I found account takeover bug in one of their subdomain. The bug is a little bit strange and so I want to share other hunters. Some ppls (who know me) think that I spend most of my time in bug hunting but actually I am not, I only spend less than 10hrs a week for hunting bugs. My goal is to be a security engineer who can model the threats, identify and can fix security bugs.

Normal application flow

When a user need to reset their password, he need to click restore access and need to put their associate email.

https://cups.mail.ru/faq/restore-password/restore?step=1

After entering user email into password reset functionality, one time password reset code is sent to their email and it redirected to

https://cups.mail.ru/faq/restore-password/restore?step=3

User then put their one time password and if password is correct, it redirects to https://cups.mail.ru/faq/restore-password/restore?step=4.

Then he can reset their password and the requests contains

{“password”:”password”,”email”:”user@gmail.com”,”code”:”onetimepassword”} .

Abusing password reset functionality

Due to lack of access control in their password reset functionality, I can reset every user’s password. I visit https://cups.mail.ru/faq/restore-password/restore?step=4 and then I changed original request which is {“password”:”password”,”email”:”user@gmail.com”,”code”:”onetimepassword”} to {“password”:”reset”, “email”: “victim@gmail.com”} as shown in below.

After removing code parameter and forward the requests and then it redirected to

https://cups.mail.ru/faq/restore-password/restore?step=5

I just shocked and tried to login with victim email but failed xD. I asked myself why?. The response said password is reset successfully.

So, I retest their password reset functionality and this time I clicked to come in link(see in above screenshot?) and surprisingly, victim’s password is reset successfully and I can login to victim account.

Conclusion

Honestly, I still don’t know how they implement password reset functionality in their back-end. In general, the vulnerable web application should reset successfully and it doesn’t matter clicking to come in link or not, but in this scenario they checked something in their back-end(may be Referer?). So if you don’t to click to come in link, the password reset functionality will fail.

I quickly reported to Mail.ru bb program and they rewarded $1500 for this bug.

--

--