Lessons from the Toughest, Loneliest Sport In the World.

Malinda Senanayake
Knockout Station
Published in
3 min readSep 16, 2018

You don't need to be angry to fight. Boxing to me is a tactical game. It’s the best way To express my self. Its a gateway to finding out what you are really made up of.

I was never a fan of fighting, I did get into fights when I was young (14–16), but lost the taste for it completely after getting my shit kicked in by a bunch of guys at school.

The first day I went to try boxing out, the coach wanted us to do knuckle dips. FIRST TIME EVER DOING IT !!! I did all ten and felt like a fucking king. lol. Still feels good when I think about it. Small achievement, but there were lots of it by the end of day one. I keep going back to VO2 because I know every day I walk into a fight I walk out with a small achievement, even if I have lost the fight.

That's what keeps me fighting, these small achievements on a daily basis.

I learned that there are only three things to a becoming a good boxer. Accuracy, Speed & Power.

Accuracy

If you are not accurate you have already lost the fight. There is no two things about it. Every boxer who has accomplished anything is always accurate. The decision you make in a split of a second, the foot, the punch, the movement, counters, everything that you decide doesn’t make any impact if you cannot land it accurately.

Accuracy determines everything.

Lesson 1 : Work on accuracy every day, and keep working on it. It can always improve.

Speed

Everything is decided in a split of a second. The opportunity cost of time is everything in the sport of boxing. You have a very small window to think and execute. If it doesn't happen fast enough you have missed an opportunity.

That opportunity you missed could have been the difference between and ending a fight as a champion or ……

If you are to grab as many opportunities you can and create large enough opportunities for your self to win, you need to be fast. There is no space for the slow in this arena.

In an Arena that is relentless and unforgiving, your savior is speed. Speed is the greatest tool for survival.

100 KMPH SPEED FRONT, 200 KMPH SPEED BACK!!! ~ Coach Ifthekar Alam

If you cannot land accurately on target and be back on guard before your opponent lands on your open, you might as well not take that shot. You probably will get hit harder by the opponent through that opening. Missed Opportunity.

The only way to slow this game down is to become faster than the game itself.

The whole point of this sport is to hit and not get hit, Don't take any unnecessary punishment.

Lesson 2 : No Speed, No Game. Work on Speed every living second.

Power

Power without accuracy is useless. The accuracy of power is absolutely important. It not how hard you can hit, how hard can you hit on target.

Lesson 3: Work on Accuracy of Power, not just power

In boxing, if you have won, you have outsmarted your opponent. Boxing teaches you to outthink your opponent, make a hit that the opponent does not see coming.

There is no formula for winning, your only option is to look for a window of opportunity and take that opening in a split of a second.

Coach Ifthekar Alam

Coach has been the most impactful teacher to come into my life. He has taught me everything I know about boxing, and how all of it applies to our day to day lives.

The most important lesson coach taught me was patience. Patience under any circumstance. Patience, once understood is the most devastating tool in your arsenal.

Being patient makes you pay attention. It makes your mind calm and focused enough to see that opening and BAM!

--

--