19 Reasons to Start Writing a Private Journal Now!

KAM
KNOL LONK
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2021

--

Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

I had a long desire to have a private journal where I could write my personal thoughts, away from the preying eyes of the social network and even people very close to me. Although it seems that these days people don’t mind sharing anything and everything, I am hoping that there are still people like me who want to keep somethings within the confines of self.

There are many journaling apps available today, offering a host of functionality and making it such an ease to get started with consistency. I started in August 2012 with the Day One app (quick review provided at the end of this story) and it proved to be a valuable experience for me, with 540 posts and still counting. I was so compelled to start then that my first post ended up being a list of 19 reasons why one should embrace private journaling. Browsing through recently, I decided to share the list:

  1. Your personal, truthful, unabashed account/archive of your life.
  2. A platform to reflect on each day.
  3. Helps you evaluate your life’s progress at various level of granularity — days, weeks, months, and years.
  4. Helps you improve your writing and critical thinking.
  5. Helps you take a quick peek (search) into the past or take a walk down the memory lane.

--

--