Being Human

10 Things Every Commenter Must Consider Before Leaving Their Comments

Even if the reader is a writer themselves

Bhavnaa Narula
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
6 min readJul 19, 2021

--

Image source

‘’The wound made by hurting with fire will heal but the wound created by harsh words uttered using our tongue leaves an inedible scar.’’
— Thiruvalluvar

If I say mean comments don’t hurt me, then I would be lying. Every comment, whether good or bad creates an impression on my heart. The same is the case for most of the writers as well.

Every story a writer publishes feels like sitting through exams but on different topics. Once published, the author desperately waits for the results. The more claps, reading time, and positive responses the author gets, the more they feel encouraged and lifted.

I am the kind of writer, who waits to read the responses received on her stories. People’s reaction tells me if the story was perceived the way I had envisioned or if I missed making my point.

But some readers forget that writers are human beings and not bots.

They write the unreadable. They leave words that seem like an unsparing acid attack. The words and the tone of their comment, leave the author feeling both, humiliated and angry.

--

--

Bhavnaa Narula
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a dancer who writes what her heart dictates. My Insta ID- theaquarianparadise/ thedancingparadise28