3 Lessons My Ego Taught Me

My ego became my mentor

Khalimah Malik
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Photo by Khalimah Malik

Caught in a cycle of self-doubt and feeling stagnant, I found myself asking tough questions about my life’s trajectory. Who was the driving force behind my standstill?

Me.

The humility of being self-aware and accountable for the actions of my lower nature. I was in my way of tapping into my full potential. However, instead of fighting that part of me — I took a different approach, surrendering.

If I wanted my higher consciousness to be in the driver’s seat, I had to turn my ego into an ally through recognition, understanding, and acceptance.

Lesson 1: Ego Loves Comfort Zones

The first eye-opening moment was realizing that my ego was the enabler of my comfort. It was always more than happy to remind me of the potential risks and threats of a new endeavor, encouraging me to play it safe or don’t play at all. It had all the reasons why something wouldn’t work.

But, growth and comfort don’t vibe well in the same sentence. I started pushing back, questioning that loud voice, and challenging myself to do the things that I feared. Each time, I learned, I grew, and I built resilience. By acknowledging this pattern, I reclaimed the steering wheel of my life from my ego.

Lesson 2: Ego Keeps Score, But Life Doesn’t

My ego grew an obsession with constantly tallying my life in terms of wins and losses, comparing my path with others. I learned to gently remind myself that everyone’s journey is different.

Comparing my Chapter 3 to someone else’s Chapter 20 is not only unfair to myself but also a distorted view of success. I started to accept and appreciate my journey, my pace, and my unique path. I started to live for the experiences, not the score.

Lesson 3: Ego is Not the Enemy

My initial response to recognizing my ego was to fight it. I thought I needed to defeat this internal antagonist. But, over time, I realized that this approach was too a form of ego — it was still all about ‘me versus something.’

It wasn’t until I had the realization of knowing that part of me wasn’t going anywhere. This journey wasn’t about putting up a fight against myself, but an opportunity for awareness and growth. It’s a chance to pause, reflect, and make a conscious choice rather than an ego-driven reaction.

The Wrap Up

My ego became one of my greatest teachers. It continually offers lessons in humility, acceptance, and self-compassion. Working with my ego rather than against it ultimately helps me learn deeper aspects of who I am.

⚡️I appreciate you for reading this content! There’s a whole lot more when you subscribe to the Society144 Newsletter via Substack. Get insights on mindset hacks, unfiltered spiritual convos, and dope personal growth tips.

Join here for free →

Khalimah Malik | Founder of Society144

--

--

Khalimah Malik
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Empower individuals to regain control of their minds and ascend to their highest potential | https://khalimah144.substack.com/