3 Things I Wish Providers Knew

Eating disorder edition

Life Fighting Ed
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMar 16, 2024

--

In my approximately 20 years of eating disorder experience and 2 years of treatment I have seen first hand how much most general providers don’t know about eating disorders. Unless you are working with professionals that specifically specialize in eating disorders it’s pretty likely that they actually received very limited education on the topic. With that in mind, here are 3 things I wish medical and mental health providers knew about working with ED clients like me.

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash
  • Weight does not equal severity. And neither do labs! Eating disorders do not discriminate based on size or body type. Someone can be in the depths of illness in a body that looks perfectly healthy. When a provider says everything is “fine” based on numbers it can be extremely invalidating for someone that is suffering and become a barrier to them getting proper treatment. I can’t tell you how many times I have left the clinic in tears because I know my body is tanking but I don’t feel like the doctors are listening. (And even when my labs have been off they don’t realize how serious that can be.)
  • Eating disorders are complex illnesses that require some complex treatment-so a team approach is important! Professionals such as physicians, dietitians, therapists, and psychiatrists all working together are crucial for tackling every side of this disease. Don’t get caught up trying to take this on with your client all by yourself.
  • If you aren’t comfortable talking about it, your client probably won’t be either. Ask the questions and give space to hear the answers. Start the hard conversation. I have seen so many providers skirt around the issue because they just don’t know what to say or do. Face it head on with us! If it is out of your scope, take time to learn more and refer to another professional when needed.

I would love to be a part of helping providers, caregivers, and supporters get a better understanding of what it is like to live with an eating disorder because that can mean more help for someone else! The more we talk about it the less shame there is to prevent sufferers from getting help so if you would like to ask questions I am happy to share my personal experiences.

--

--