A Chain of My Worries

It is quite normal to have worries, but problems start when one worry gives birth to another and keeps forming a chain of worries.

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJul 5, 2024

--

Photo by Kaley Dykstra on Unsplash

I began to worry once I entered high school, all thanks to my parents, whose expectations introduced me to this new emotion.

From there on, my journey with worries never stopped; they kept on increasing as I took on many roles. From a student to a college guy, then from a job seeker to an employee, and now from a husband to a father, my worries are still intact with me.
They never left me, nor did I make an attempt to leave them.

A few days ago, I happened to have my hands on my childhood photo. I kept staring at it for a while. I was seeing my very own smile and wondered where that smile was now.I do laugh and smile in many moments, but that smile of mine is missing. That worryless smile was something else.

And now, as a father, I have seen the same smile on my daughter's face. She is carrying that worry-free smile that I have lost.

This started a chain of worries in me: will I be able to keep my child the same as she is now? Will I be able to keep her worry-free smile forever? Will I be able to live that long, even to be with her?

Then my worries were cut short by a thought: what if God has given me a longer life? Why am I even worrying about something that is not known to me?

Then I decided to let the natural worries stay with me, as they are born out of my concerns and are okay with me as they do not harm me.

But I need to at least stop the new worries coming to me about my child, for the truth is, I am with her now. Let me live the moments with her till I am and do my best to maintain her smile till I am.

Worries are fine until they are tied just to concerns. A chain of worries is something we need to avoid. To break the chain, you need to guide your mind towards reality.

Reality is the only thing that can break the chain of worries.

--

--

Malli
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I feel blessed to write, for that's a rare quality to find.