A Letter To My Muse

a benediction of sorts

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by 愚木混株 Cdd20 from Pixabay

Dear Muse,

It’s been a while since I’ve reached out to you, since I’ve been willing to listen. I wish I could say I have an excuse. And, yeah, I’m sure I can conjure up some lame ones for you, but the reality is that I lost my way. Maybe I’ve been in a time of reflection instead of expression. I’ll admit, I allowed exhaustion to get the best of me. Completely. Utterly. Dejectedly.

My first instinct is to offer up some platitudes, to say that I know you have my back and want what’s best for me. But the honest, gritty truth is I became overwhelmed. The constant promoting on social media and trying to balance my creativity with the demands of full time work and family took its toll.

Please don’t be disappointed in me because I’m struggling not to feel disappointed in myself. I told myself that I needed some “me” time. That something had to give. That the outside world, the constant barrage of mainstream media, social media, fear mongering and a world on fire didn’t affect me. That me, a pretty chill and positive person, didn’t fall prey to the collective consciousness, fueled by anxiety.

But I’d be lying. Days turned into weeks and then into months, and I couldn’t bring myself listen to you. I turned my ears off and shuffled in a haze of monotony (and probably a bit of

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.