A Letter to My Younger me: About Love, Friendship, Self Doubt

Affirmations and adulthood lessons of a wiser me.

Ben Deston
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Dear Younger Me,

The world feels heavy right now for you. In your heart, there are often a thousand blocks pressing down on you, and the many pains can be unbearable. You feel that way. You feel alone, anxious, and unsure of where you belong in the world right now. But I have come to tell you something important: you can take this on. You can rise to meet every single challenge that comes to you, and your life is going to be richer than you would imagine now.

At the start of this letter, I want to give you 6 truths that I want you to keep close to your heart dearly.

1. You’re good enough. Anyone who tells you differently is just a jerk.

2. Don’t ever judge yourself in comparison to others. Instead, judge yourself against what you know you’re capable of.

3. If you want something, ask. The worst thing anyone can say in response is no.

4. Fear is a wolf. Chase the wolf, and you’ll never be afraid of the things you once feared.

5. Smile more, worry less. Positivity is infectious, and happiness is a choice.

First love (and heartbreak)

--

--

Ben Deston
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Life will always be what you make out of it, not what you expect or await. Here to write about my personal stories - everything which moves me