POETRY / 30 DAY POETRY CHALLENGE

A Moment of Wonder

Prompt Day 8: Delight in the moment

Jupiter Grant
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readJun 8, 2021

--

Today a helium balloon sailed past,
spinning, high above my head.
Cross cloud-kissed skies it travelled fast,
in vibrant shades of blue and red.

And as it danced upon the air,
buoyed and cradled by the wind,
it drifted off to who knows where
as I looked on with wistful grin.

It took me back to childhood days
a trip to Sydney’s Luna Park
when me and my young sister gazed
at such balloons and then remarked,

“Please can we have them, Mum and Dad?
We’ve been so very good today.”
Our parents caved and soon we had
two shiny balloons with which to play.

No sooner had we left the park
to make our way back to the car
but my poor sister’s face went dark
as a gust of wind carried hers off, far.

She burst into a flood of tears
and could not be at all placated.
I stood and watched…

--

--

Jupiter Grant
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Freelancer. Living in UK & my own head. Send queries here: jupiterslair@gmail.com. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant