A (True) Sourdough Story

A poem of faith in the process, and happiness

--

a sourdough loaf
Photo by Geraud pfeiffer

A bowl of hearty soup, or with tea
A bread leavened without yeast
Warm, welcoming smells from the kitchen
Boy, was I in for a treat

My very first bite of that bread
A home-baked sourdough
Sent me to happy heavens
I wanted one bite more..

I wondered what the big deal was
Until I came across an IG post
My questions were more than answered
Upon tasting home-baked sourdough toast

In the blue zones where people
Live a hundred years and more
Bread is a staple with every meal
But it’s not the one you can buy in a store

Sourdough bread is leavened by
The lactobacillus bacteria
The gut-brain connection is obvious
Among the people of Sardinia and Ikaria

While the probiotics from the starter
Perish in the baking game
The prebiotic, a type of indigestible fiber
Make for that happy gut and brain

--

--

Lata Kokal (formerly Neha Sonney)
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Healed from Narcissistic Abuse | Author of 📗: WIRED FOR SELF-LOVE |🎙The Relationship Academy | Free 📚: NehaSonney.Gumroad.com | IG & YT @latakokalofficial