A Willing Exchange I Regret

A Wish to Reclaim What I Gave Away

Vijay's Poetry
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readDec 6, 2023

--

Exchange by VSS

Inspired by my own poem in Hindi and Urdu. If you are interested, let me know, I will post that too here. 😊

The poem is about a willing exchange I made long ago that I deeply regret now and so wish I could undo it.

In a fateful exchange, I chose what seemed a fleeting sweet,

A cookie alluring, yet in truth, incomplete.

But oh, the loss of the golden biscuit rare,

A treasure beyond compare, now a memory in the air.

As I ponder the past, its echo profound,

I wonder, can the lost be once again found?

Can the trade be undone, the precious reclaimed,

The biscuit of gold, for which my heart flamed?

In the depths of regret, a hope does arise,

To reverse the exchange, to undo the unwise.

Oh, to return to that moment, the choice to amend,

To grasp once again what I failed to defend.

A dream, perhaps, in the twilight of thought,

To recover the gold for which I once sought.

In the journey of life, where choices are spun,

I yearn for the chance to undo what was done.

--

--

Vijay's Poetry
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

My articles @vssVijaysSharma featuring my original research on emotions, life, universe, God, psychology, mental health and more. Here, I write poetry about lif