All The Things That Make Me Stronger Than a Rock

Life can be tough, really tough.

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Life can hit hard sometimes, and standing tall and strong isn’t the easy option. Here comes the storm and we’re in the eye of the hurricane, trying hard not to be swept away. But those are the moments when we discover a strength within that’s tougher than a rock.

For me, it’s about finding little things that keep me going, even when everything feels heavy. Sometimes when I have a sad day, I catch myself staring at a teaspoon on my kitchen counter. It sounds weird, but I contemplate how poetic it is to find beauty in a teaspoon when everything seems so tragic. When I was little, I used to play with forks and spoons, giving them names, assigning them characters. That used to ease my anxiety.

I get up every day, even when I don’t feel like it. I have a routine that helps me feel grounded. I might do some exercises, yoga, or just take some deep breaths. It’s not always easy, and more often than not, I still feel shitty at the end of the routine. But I know the only other choice is to curl up in bed and cry, and that just makes matters worse.

Even when I’m feeling low, I try to be there for other people. Sometimes, all I want to do is hide away, but I know that being around others can help. So, I challenge myself to show up in…

--

--

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Founder & Editor of KTHT. Here to pen, polish and provoke thoughts / linktr.ee/ktht