All Things Faith

Unexpected is beautiful.

Devieka
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readOct 13, 2020

--

I am experiencing an extremely unusual feeling as I write this piece. Mumbai, the city I live in, had a major power cut yesterday that lasted almost ten hours. This morning I woke up grumpy and irritable, all I wanted to do was cut myself off for the day and do my own thing. Just as I was texting my friend and partner at work about doing exactly this, I started grinning.

I felt this sudden surge of joy fill me up out of no where. Considering the long humid night I had just miserably spent, this unexpected burst of emotion confused me. Before I questioned it further, I let it ride out and immediately started writing.

I’m tickled just thinking of how haphazard this article is, but to be honest, my brain feels like butterflies fluttering between flowers by a stream in the hills.

Photo by Spaylia on Unsplash

I am here now with just one thing on my mind, faith. The last thought I had before going to bed was 𝘋𝘪𝘢𝘯𝘢’s prompt – Faith. And it seems to me that today, the universe is reminding me to have faith in life, in the world, in the betterment of the world, in myself and in my ability to be happy in times that traditionally expect the opposite.

A large part of feeling this way, having unexpected moments of pure happiness comes from giving up the idea of having control. We have none.

The sooner we come to realize this, I have absolute faith that we will enter a world of butterflies on flowers by a stream :)

--

--