Always Beside You

A poem about enduring broken promises.

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Forever will I keep, the promise of old
Insisted she said when I made her frown

I remember her tears, as they fell on my heart
I held her tight, while I hushed her goodnight

For a moment just there, she relieved herself right
Her lover was dead, as the angel caressed her side

I never knew love, I only knew might
When I embraced her there, I felt it beside

This feeling of anxiety, helplessness, and despair
How humans do weep when they lose someone dear

For a moment right there, I realized something anew
Perhaps angels do feel, what devils do endure

Maybe we aren’t that different after all,
As I close my eyes, holding her near

Silencing thy dread, and extinguishing her soul
The debt is paid, her interest has been owed

She can now be free, of her woes and fears
Why do I tear, as she starts to disappear

She holds my face, with her hand so pure
nodding her head, with a smile so clear

It’s going to be okay, you're going to be all right
I will always be here when you need me there, someday

Liar…

--

--

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

It’s never black or white. Sometimes there’s a bit of spicy red in there as well.