An Argent Piece of my Soul

A dedication

Meenakshi Malhotra
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Photo by Jake Thacker on Unsplash

Taking your love for granted till I live was unimaginably childish. I was unaware of this feeling which gnaws at me incessantly, craving this much, warming up to your hug and the worn-out fragrance you always emanated. Your presence was like daylight, which would always be there.

But now it is just those gestures you made, they keep floating in my eyes.

I remember your tired eyes waiting to give that little peck on my cheek when I visited you. It became a regime for me to quickly condescend to your forced tight hug, whenever I was in a hurry.

Why does she keep doing this has turned into Why has it stopped?

You were the one who was always beside me during the rough patches of my life, my illnesses, my surgeries and so on.

WORDS IN VERSE FOR YOU, MA

I behold the argent piece from your soul

It coruscates in my being through the layers

Besides the ageing time and the infinite space

I reminisce about your image imprinted in my mind

The silvery essence of the flawless heaven

I have treasured it between my palms

I stretch it as far as I can

To etch the crescent of your loving arms

Destiny played its cards, and you were in and out of the void within you. Still playing the perfect navigator of our family, you tried to fill in the black holes with the selfless love you always had for all. Your calm and composed persona engulfed the unrest inside you for a long time. And when it became visible, it did hurt.

You were too benevolent for everyone around you.

Did they care?

In a world of twinkling stars and hope

she hung to the edge of her strength

with poise and grace, she kept up her act

tattered inside, she looked happy

the crescent tip of her faith glistened as an anchor

of her dreams, her patience,

she spun around her fingers

she rose above the silver lining of clouds

beaming with happiness, leaving behind grudges

how could she think of her betterment

when she was born to entertain,

wondered the world, questioning her amends

Writing about you and your love for us will not suffice as a dedication to you. You were the keeper of our love and care, and now we have become a mere representation of it. You may have left those places around me where you loved to visit with me, but the aura of your love still reverberates when I am in those places.

Hoping you are calm and better in a much deserving place now, I try to keep solace.

--

--

Meenakshi Malhotra
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I have learnt to be in a happy space since I started penning down my perspective as a poet and a writer.