Poetry| Ode

An Ode to Science

My Relationship With Science

Bahuguna
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Can I ever write something that is really valuable to anyone except me?

Yes, I can. That is pretty easy. My mother will surely appreciate anything I write. So will my father, my brother, and my close friends.

But, can I ever write something that is really valuable to a lot many strangers?

I have read books, and articles, and quotes that proved to be really valuable for me. So, I can write too.

But what kind of writing will that be?

Will it be poems that express my emotions?

I don’t think so. My emotions are my business. They are unique. In no scenario do they replicate in another being.

Will it be my philosophy of life?

It won’t work either. Philosophy provides solace, sometimes solutions. I am not looking to give people solace.

Can I write fiction?

I must be joking if I said yes. I have found literature to be extremely useful in making real-life decisions. But I don’t think I have what it takes to write a well stitched story.

I can’t help myself most of the times, being in the chains of my physicality. No point taking about writing self-help stuff.

I have no advice to give. I have not figured out most of my things, nor will I ever be able to. It’s not that easy, that I have realized.

I don’t go well with popular opinions either. What do I know about the history, religions, politics, economics, and so on.

Surely, I can’t teach you how to make money. I skip meals sometimes and I don’t have a grooming routine.

I am not a career man. I try to do what is needed for me to stay in the game.

Then what should I write?

Maybe I should replicate the work I found useful. For I know, I can’t be an outlier in this all connected world.

I should write the truth, only the truth, and nothing except the truth. That which is true for all beings, humans or not.

That sun never rises and sets, instead, the earth revolves around the sun.

That the natural state of this universe is dark, we just get light for sometime.

That species were not created separately, but evolved from a common point.

That what we see are not stars, but light emitted by them long time ago before dying.

I have found this useful, you will too. This is my philosophy, my religion, and our history, the existential reality. May it become yours too.

For you too cannot survive without food and water. For you get sick by overeating and feel better by fasting too.

For you and me are mortals, the past is gone, and the clock is ticking.

--

--