Photo by gary tresize on Unsplash

Are You an Ocean or Well Frog?

Sufi Parable Finale

Spyder
3 min readDec 17, 2020

--

It is fitting that this parable is the last one at least for now. I look forward to the new challenges because unlike the well frog, the vastness and wonder of exploring these parables has opened new places in my mind and soul. Looking at lessons, analyzing and exploring things from different views has helped me do that in my world also.

I want to talk about the parallels I see in this story and what is happening in the world right now. The ocean frog represents the majority of the people in the world. That includes the medical experts, the scientists and the majority of the people. The well frog represents the fringe scientists and the people that have a self-centered view of the world.

The ocean frog has from the beginning told us of the treat the pandemic is to us, and the world in general. They have talked about how deadly this virus is compared to other deadly viruses in the past. They tell us how to protect ourselves from the virus. They tell us to be patient. They admit this has been a major disruption to our lives and in fact has created a new normal. They have told us that the only practical solution to this virus is a vaccine. They have told us that heard-immunity would be too costly in lives and economic devastation to be practical. They have kept us informed with facts so we know what we are…

--

--

Spyder

evolving to be a person my dogs would be proud of and wise enough to honor the owls I cherish