Are you Enslaved By Rage?

A question for mindful life

Darian
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readJul 9, 2024

--

Picture By Petr Ganaj on pexels.com

Rages Influence

Rage is consuming. Is that really true? Well, like every human emotion, anger can have incredible depth and a wide range. From mere self-protection to long and toxic hatred that poisons human life with a craving for revenge. Despite every layer of complexity, let’s dig in with a simple example.

Simple and Silly Example

As a deep lover of books, I love libraries. The peaceful atmosphere and aesthetics of books give a completely different vibe. Such an incredible aura of knowledge can reawaken great inspiration in the soul of a writer.

So there I was, deep in thought as I walked, contemplating my new articles, poems, and, most importantly, the next part of my book. It was a wonderful morning. The view of the river was calming, and the fuss of urban birds fighting over cracker crumbs was amusing.

I was on my way to the National Library of Latvia, by far the most excellent place to gather knowledge and get work done in the best possible environment. The comfort and accessibility to all necessary tools are phenomenal. So, as always, I had high expectations for my experience at this place I love to call “The Great Library.”

National Library Of Latvia By Yeti-Hunter on WikiMedia commons.org

Suddenly, as I passed through the door, I noticed a large group of people. Multiple unknown languages and an impressive number of backpacks indicated that I was encountering tourists. Well, without a doubt, “The Great Library” is not just a place for books but also a wonder of architecture, a museum, an exhibition hall, an archive, and even a stage for important musical and theatrical events. There is a lot to see, that’s for sure. Great for them and great for us.

And yet there was still an unsolved mystery for me. The library barely had any staff working on the spot. To find the answer to this psychologically terrifying mystery — well, my day’s work was on the line. What could be more important for my personal ego? I approached an elderly security guard. As always, dark clothing and a couple of formal elements, like a red tie.

“Unfortunately, today there is no access to the library’s reading rooms or working spaces,” the elderly man politely replied to my question. The disappointment hit me like sudden cold rain. “Today, the library is only for tourists.” My facial expression turned from neutral to sad, and I clenched one of my fists. Through my teeth, I silently whispered, “Thank you…”

I know it may sound ridiculous, but I certainly started to feel anger. Such a fall from my expectations right to the ground. I noticed that any great idea I had on the way simply evaporated from my brain cells. I had no more ideas or inspirations, just feelings of irritation and disappointment, and yet that was barely a minor thing to happen. So, I could take charge of my emotional streams to overcome them. But the question lies forward: What if we get into more serious or urgent situations?

From Minor Annoyance To Fury and Despair

If a minor burst of self-controlled anger means sacrificing your inspiration and well-being, then truly deep hate can be even more controlling and intoxicating. Emotions can easily take the wheel of human actions, to the extreme state of serving our own anger. Basically, when you throw everything good out of your mind and practically become a slave to your violent emotions.

Denied access to the library… well, it is clearly annoying. But what about when somebody is responsible for the death of a loved one in an unfortunate accident? This level of fury and grief can make a person blind, deaf, and unfeeling. A state like that can poison the human mind for the rest of life.

I know I took an extreme example. Most common situations in life will be somewhere in between but still have a certain effect on our daily lives. I believe nobody deserves to be a slave to their own bad emotions. For example, when grief makes you believe that you are not worthy of love or when fury makes you believe that everyone is untrustworthy. These are great burdens of life that try to take control over our own selves. It’s a never-ending battle, and yet dealing with them is easier said than done. But fortunately, the human mind and flesh follow the rule of cause and effect, and I will share some methods that give me the upper hand over at least some of my emotions.

Tips and Tricks for Being In Charge:

  • Have regular intense physical activity
  • Develop a habit of meditation
  • Reflect in any form — figure out yourself (Diary, Therapist, Audiolog)
  • Take time for sleep (those neurons need to redigest experiences)
  • Daily do at least one thing you love
  • In critical moments, find as many good things as you can
  • Take great care of your health (hygiene, food, water, etc.)
  • Try to connect with people (take initiative)

Never Ending Battle

And yet it’s always tricky… Perfection towards self-control is an extremely long road. It’s very similar to any form of art because most likely, there is always room for improvement. But the happiness we let into our souls has undeniable stability if we take care of ourselves.

After running through my hometown in search of a library to work in, I was denied multiple times. It felt stupid and quite embarrassing. But now I have found one truly strange place. I am surrounded by seniors reading different news printed on old-school gray paper, some of them trying to figure out the beauty of modern technologies, and yet there is something wonderful as I am finally able to finish another article.

Like everyone, I am just a human being. My self-control needs improvement, and that requires incredible self-understanding. I hope that tomorrow I will be ready to learn even more and face even bigger storms of emotions with a clear and reasonable mind.

With Love and Care,
Darian

--

--

Darian
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

My Jurney lead my from failed student to trully exceptional educatar.... at least my kids are saying that...