Awaiting Reunion

A poet in longing grappling with impermanence

Melody Mann
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Marek Okon on Unsplash

So fleeting is this life we cling to solemnly,
seldom acknowledging the inevitable that lingers in the abyss,
for the kiss of life’s mortality does not discriminate against the rich nor poor,
it but greets all with open arms in the permanence of its ultimatum,
a reminder that no one escapes its embrace.

An embrace that I’ve grown too familiar with throughout the seasons,
as it’s shifted from family to friendships and lovers have I watched loss come to fruition,
I have sat in silence accepting such fate tirelessly in pursuit of what was you,
Though you are formless and of a land my mind can only fathom I savor the prospect of reunion;
an opportunity to submerge once more.

Submerging into the formless currents of you where my spirit can openly wade the waters,
ridding myself of the monotony that is samsara¹ and becoming realized,
to but join you amid these constellations that glisten like the inner spirit is all I dream for,
basking in the radiance that is otherworldly all whilst existing in the manmukhi² plains,
aligning myself within where only shabad³ remains.

Til then I’ll hide you in prose nestled between the stanzas of these poems,
I will seek refuge in the wordplay where I can so eloquently celebrate all that is you,
this is but a humble homage to the drishti⁴ you bestow,
for my gratitude meets no bounds in the presence of your wake,
these lines are but silent prayers pining for you.

~musings of one in longing

Expanded Notations
This piece is reminiscent of my recent encounters with grief and mortality, an understanding that impermanence is said to be the only permanence we encounter in this lifetime. Brought up in eastern philosophies and disciplines, I take inspiration from Buddhism and Sikhism to weave together imagery of oceans and constellations. I use natural sites we can see with our eyes in hopes to conceptualize the abstract notion of spirituality. Spirituality is different for everyone and can have ties throughout many seasons and colors. This piece is by no means claiming to be the solemn truth or the right way; it is merely the longing of a poet in waiting. It is my hopes to cascade morsels of observation I have collected on my journey and share them with you.

Glossary
¹ Samsara. A term present in Buddhism and Hinduism which refers to the cycle of death and rebirth that the mortal world is bound to.
² Manmukhi. A Punjabi phrase stemming from Sikhism for one who is but slave to the mind in the sense their actions, reactions, and choices are doctrine/d by the shackles of their thoughts. An inability to rise above the conscious level to align with a more spiritual and reflective state of existence.
³ Shabad. A phrase in Punjabi stemming from Sikhism that literally translates to the “word”. The word can be denoted to scripture or an inner sound current that one listens to in a place of meditation and/or deep reflection. It is believed that within all humans lies this sound current that fuels our existence.
Drishti. A phrase in Punjabi stemming from Sikhism which accounts for the benevolence, blessings, and good fortunes that meet us on the day to day. It is a feeling that we are taken care of, watched for, and protected.

--

--