Being in nature heals your soul

You connect with something greater than yourself

Eduard Sebastian
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readMay 13, 2022

--

Photo by author

I had some free time, and I decided to go with my girlfriend to visit the forest that is located near our city.

It was a wonderful experience to be exposed to that much life, the sounds of birds, the beautiful smell of trees and flowers, and the feeling of connection that nature provides.

I know the scientific literature about the benefits of nature exposure, nonetheless, I always forget how important is for us to get in touch with it as much as we can.

It helps me remember our origins, the place where our civilization started, how far we’ve come, and at the same time how disconnected we are from our environment.

We are more connected than we like to admit with nature, and even though we build cities, and created roads, and cars, we are still the same people that once roamed free into the wild.

There is always part of us that resonates with the wild, the danger, and the beauty of nature, that’s why we feel soo good after a walk in the forest.

In our modern age, we are more and more disconnected, we feel alone and we are caught up in our daily concerns, we need to have the opportunity to see the bigger picture, to see that there is something greater than ourselves out there.

To get to see nature with the same awe we once did

You have time you just don’t use it

A lot of people even though they might consciously know the positive effects of nature, lie to themselves that they don’t have the time to do it.

I don’t believe is a problem of time, I believe is a problem of priorities.

You will always make time for what’s important to you. It might require some sacrifices but most people are willing to make them if what they gain is worth it.

So what do you gain from nature exposure?

  • A meta-analysis (a review of a lot of scientific studies) found that nature exposure decreases cortisol levels, which is one of the most well-known biomarkers of stress.¹
  • A study that randomly assigned sixty adults to a 50-min walk in either a natural or an urban environment in Palo Alto, California found that compared to the urban experience, nature experience led to affective benefits (decreased anxiety, rumination, and negative affect) as well as cognitive benefits (increased working memory performance).²
  • According to a systematic review, short-term exposure to natural environments leads to a reduction in depressive mood.³

These are just a few of the benefits that are mentioned in the scientific literature that talks about the effects of nature exposure.

I believe getting in touch with our natural environment is a necessity for our soul, to be able to breathe clean air and to be mesmerized by incredible sights and harmonious songs.

You have to start making nature exposure a priority.

Peace for your mind

For me, the cities are completely draining my energy resources. There is just so much going on, cars furiously zapping around, people that are always agitated to get somewhere, and ear-blasting sounds of construction sites all around the city.

If I spend too much time without walking even for a little bit in nature, I find that I am more anxious, and my mood is generally lower. I think this in part due to the fact that I feel like there is no point in doing what I am doing, I feel like a mouse trapped in a weird game where I am only surviving for another stressful day to come.

On the other hand, if I heed the calling of the forest, and let myself once a week or even once every two weeks, to spend a day in the forest, an immense sense of purpose overwhelms me.

I am standing in awe at the beauty of life, that comes in so many colors, smells, and sounds.

It is a beautiful symphony of interlinked elements, that I can never get tired of.

Even though there is so much going on in a forest, there is peace around it. It is just like everything flows in harmony, and you can see once again that life can also be like that, not just the craziness of running toward another paycheck month by month.

Nature exposure gives me peace of mind, and it inspires me to see more in my own life, to see meaning and connection, a link that connects the dots we forgot about.

Final thoughts

I believe that nature exposure is highly underrated. Even though so many of us know how much we need it, we still don’t do it.

It is highly important to able to stand in awe at how beautiful existence can be so that the ever-present suffering of life, doesn't overwhelm you.

For me, it is like meeting an old friend, that invites me to transcend my day-to-day worries, and simply enjoy standing barefoot in the grass, with the sun gently touching my body, and my ears being soothed by the melody that the birds joyfully sing.

Your life might be busy but is not busy enough to ignore the call of nature. Make the time to let yourself be mesmerized by the beauty of our natural environment.

Resources:

  1. Song, C., Ikei, H., & Miyazaki, Y. (2016). Physiological effects of nature therapy: A review of the research in Japan. International journal of environmental research and public health, 13(8), 781.
  2. Bratman, G. N., Daily, G. C., Levy, B. J., & Gross, J. J. (2015). The benefits of nature experience: Improved affect and cognition. Landscape and Urban Planning, 138, 41–50.
  3. Vanaken, G. J., & Danckaerts, M. (2018). Impact of green space exposure on children’s and adolescents’ mental health: A systematic review. International journal of environmental research and public health, 15(12), 2668.

Subscribe here to get an email whenever I post anything new. You can also directly support me by becoming a member of Medium.

--

--

Eduard Sebastian
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Psychologist & Content Writer. I write about psychology, self-development, and health.