Breaking the Barriers of Society

Grateful for my journey in life making impossible things possible

Dr. Preeti Singh
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Selfie through timer: Preeti Singh

Growing up with weird societal norms

The confident woman who stands here has a lot of life experiences and has learned many life lessons.

Life started with loving parents with nothing much to complain about. My parents always wanted me to progress. They were happy to have a daughter which was not the norm of the society when I was born.

I disliked the words by my relatives that I was brought up like a boy being given full liberty to exercise my free will in doing things.

I did not like the fact that a male teacher tried to brush past me touching my body parts and I had to repress myself and not speak about it because society would not like it and it would be my fault and not the fault of the person who did it because he was a man.

I also thought it distasteful when a friend of my parents came alone to meet them and wanted to take me for a ride just to touch me inappropriately.

These were things in the society where we could not speak and I did. I tore apart these terrifying facts in debates but did not speak the full truth as I did not name any person because I was afraid.

--

--

Dr. Preeti Singh
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Doctorate in Finance, Professor, Author, I write about Life’s experiences, edutech. 9xTop writer.