Can We Be Friends?

A poem to my inner child

Misha Malik
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readJun 27, 2022

--

Photo by savannah asah. on Unsplash

She unties her hair and walks towards the mirror

Undressing her armor; the war has been won here

She takes her stethoscope off, those rings she can otherwise never take off

Her eyes gleam; there are no tears now

Red hot flushed skin, you could tell she’s wanted a day off

Cold hands; she places on top of the glass

Her reflection holds her back, it’s like she has her

The echoes of woes; she no longer hears

It’s like her fears have been deafened by her own ears

I’m kind to you now, ain’t I?

I smile at you like I would w strangers

I waive your pain, I ease your days

I’ll help you breathe;

I’ve found quite the way

The voice in your head; is my only music now

The words in my mouth are no longer against you because;

23 years later, we’re friends now

--

--