POETRY

“Can You? Will You”

Poem About Forgiveness

Thalia Dunn
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readNov 26, 2020

--

Photo by Shaojie on Unsplash

Come, walk with me,

for I have time to spare

and a question to ask

before I leave.

I love this time of year,

with leaves of gold

and the smokey cloud

from wood stoves

wrapping around us.

But I digress.

I never meant to break your heart,

nor destroy your dreams,

splinter our home,

or toss aside my ring of gold.

And over the years,

I tired of dragging around regret

and finally forgave myself.

Forgiving myself

was like setting fire onto my heart

for what I had done,

hating myself for hurting you

and then,

when the fury was spent,

questioning why I had done

what I did

which led me down

such a meandering memory lane

--

--

Thalia Dunn
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I’ve been scribbling in notebooks and journals for years and finally decided to share with like-minded pilgrims on our adventure through life.