Categories

Spoiler Alert: They don’t always work…

Shea Moore
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readDec 7, 2023

--

Looking around me, I see
A universe of diversity
Sunsets and noses
Hobbies and clothes
Ideas and roses

Everything is unique
Even birds’ beaks

So how could we think
God would shake
With anger if I stray from man-made categories
If I don’t play my assigned cishet part in this story
And instead follow the path that matters to me?

Is it really rational to rage at
Those who climb from the cage of

“Here’s the only sanctioned sexuality
Now get married
And have kids
And stay thin
And listen
To everything old white men say
Because God just likes guys more, okay?
Oh! And cover every inch of skin…
Your curvy body is personified sin.
God may have made it and said it was good
But he couldn’t have meant that because he understood
Or at least should have remembered
The wandering minds of brethren members.”

Yeah, nah. I think I’ll explore
My authentic self, regardless of who deplores
My “satanic” choices…
Because they will not silence this voice.

--

--

Shea Moore
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I'm a genderqueer lesbian (they/her). I grew up in an ultraconservative church; now I'm finally exploring my authentic self.