Closed Doors

Thank you

Órla K.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readMay 26, 2021

--

Photo was taken by the author in Portugal

Thank you for closing the doors

that are not for me to walk through

thank you for going before me

and slaying all those dragons for me

I am feeling too weak

to push them open anyhow

go ahead and lock it with a bolt

if you must

because you know me

I won’t be able to resist

giving it a push

If I’m being honest

I just get bored waiting

what will I do instead?

I thought that would

make me happy

I thought it would

set me free

yet over and over again

I am brought in a way I don’t understand

or know

why can’t I go through the one

the others went through

they seem happy

I think

but you know

closed doors are good for me

because I don’t really know

deep down

what I want

need or

should do

So once again

I put my trust in you.

Thank you for reading!

Thank you Diana C. for this prompt, from the Self-Reflection Marathon. I only made it for day 7.

How can you learn to appreciate closed doors just as much as you celebrate doors the Universe has opened?

--

--

Órla K.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Learn about mental, emotional, and spiritual heath. Top writer in Travel. Christian Life Coach/Substack: https://orlakenny.substack.com/