Consumed by Flowering Fires

Humanity Cloaked in Flames

Karen Hoffman
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Joshua Sukoff on Unsplash

With gratitude to Diana C. and KTHT for the Themed Poetry Challenge, Month 2-Prompt 3, Consumed by Flowering Fires, I wasn’t sure I was going to write and submit in Medium these last couple of weeks — all the heavy emotions and concerns once again have my amygdala on overdrive. Yet, I read and when I saw this prompt, I thought I might be able to put something together. Thank you!

I look up at the trees
Their leaves are falling
Still slowly and yellow
Not nearly the fiery red or orange -
Yet.

I know the days are getting shorter
I feel it in my bones
As the air begins to thin from the
Thick humidity of summer in the south

And I know the rich autumn colors are coming.

But then, I look up at the tv screen
And I notice the colors of autumn -
They are taking up way too much screen-time
The fiery balls of flame…

--

--

Karen Hoffman
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I focus on Words that Matter®- like gratitude, compassion, kindness. Life experiences & nature inspire me. Writer; CEO Living on Purpose; Morning Altars Teacher