Conversations with Mirage

Flux of thoughts

Priyanka Sinha
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Photo by Keith Hardy on Unsplash

In my youthful radiance

a dream job & steady income

didn’t seem enough

what if the life gets rough ?

You need someone to share the old age

I succumbed to this famous adage

I settled with a guy

& parents let a relieved sigh

After a high flying career, holidays abroad

& FB worthy pictures overload

Coming to a tidy, quiet house

felt like a void, something amiss

Plus in every family gatherings

some very curious, some left unsaid

When’s the baby coming ?

is everyone’s quest

The clock’s ticking, don’t delay !

half the stress, half some issues

It never clicked

umpteen visits to the fertility clinics

& the doc exclaimed

‘This is the last cycle before we call it quits’

Oh God ! just let it succeed

Can give up all for this one thing !

Prayers answered, conflicts resolved

Double line it is !!

The tiny tot arrived, my little bundle of joy !

Time flew, he’s grown up a bit

For his tantrums & company

He needs a sibling, not toys

This time no ordeal, destiny made it easy

& baby no 2 was on the way

A home, a husband & two lovely kids

now crossed off the list

my degrees gathering dust

caught my eye

& the void crept in again

albeit different this time

A dangling bunch of carrots kept me calling

I rejoined office to do something “worthwhile”

Returning to a messy home

sneezing, coughing, teething kids

swinging between babysitters & daycare

it became much to handle, this pressure

They need my attention, love & care

I hung my boots

& this time for good

Days became months & months turned years

Now it’s an empty nest

kids taking their own life tests

Let me freelance, to not get bored

So, now I write & read even more

the elusive views, claps & followers I ignore

as I focus on the stories from the world over

Wisdom strikes me, like the words of a monk

Everyone has a struggle, it’s different for all

nothing wrong or right way to call

What seems like a mirage to me

can be a flowing, cool water indeed

if I care to keenly see

or just a shiny, lustrous heap of sand

provoking me to run further, nowhere to end

The illusion’s real only as much as the flux of thoughts

I wish I had less battles fought !

Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

--

--

Priyanka Sinha
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Hi ! I am Priyanka from India 🙏 A dentist by education, a wife & mom to 3 boys . "Magic of mundane" That's what I call my write ups, tales & tussles as I see