Covered in Sunshine

Sometimes, I need to pinch myself

Kerstin Krause
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

The author in Nepal during one of her women’s motorcycle tours (photo by Bishal on Instagram)

Life is good. I am 58 and finally at peace in my heart.

I live in New Zealand, one of the most stunning countries in the world. Every morning, I wake up to a lush green paradise with birds chirping and sheep bleating beside me.

It’s summer and time for New Zealand’s famous cicadas. I no longer need a TV or radio. I just step into the garden and listen to nature’s most delightful symphony with all my heart.

We grow vegetables, which is convenient since I truly relish home cooking and eating, an added benefit of aging.

And when we go out boating, we spot dolphins and seals. We laze on sandy beaches of secluded bays you can only reach by boat. We watch the water’s surface miraculously light up from underneath at night with a zillion little fluorescent particles.

All this is no more than a stone’s throw away from home.

And then there is my motorbike, my secret first love, on which I spend the rest of my beautiful time. In New Zealand, but more often overseas. What started as an adventurous hobby with Bryan a few years ago has now turned into a business, making my life even more fulfilling.

I am captivated by how laid-back life is whenever I return to New Zealand. How laid back I…

--

--

Kerstin Krause
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Seasoned traveler | Passionate writer | Bold motorbike rider | Find out more: www.bike-n-soul.com or support women @https://ko-fi.com/bikensoultanzania