Daydreaming of Moonlight

An unspoken desire

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Walking the path, side by side, I feel every molecule that moves between us.

The children rush ahead, they laugh and move in zigzags, pausing to pick up stones, to notice a flower, and then run again as we grow closer. We’re here for them and they have our focus, or was that just an excuse to smile, to talk around the edges and be together without ever really being together?

‘You’re quiet today, are you okay?’

Your eyes pour into mine. Not towering over me offering a protection that can easily be withdrawn. But filled with amber warmth on level with mine, already my equal, meeting me without pretence.

How do I say out loud where my dreams took me in secret? Do I dare sharpen the haze of a summers day with questions I don’t know the answers to?

‘It’s okay’, you say as your hand finds my shoulders.

Warm skin whispering of strength, for while your fingers spend their days brushing keys, your palms know the kiss of hard work, and I wonder how they would feel handling the softest parts of me.

The girls shriek of rain, startling a laugh from my chest and as I turn my head to the sky cool water drops onto my cheek. They run for the trees, disappearing into a thousand hues of green as nature enfolds…

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.