Dear Addiction,

My open letter to

Rayna Pummel
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readApr 13, 2022

--

Created By Author via Canva

I refuse to give you this power anymore. You’ve infused yourself with obsession so I can’t say no. You marinate yourself in justifications so it’s easier to make the choice, even when I know that isn’t who I really am. Oh, but you're so good at persuading me to doubt myself.

Maybe I am too bad to deserve any help. Maybe the wrong I’ve done makes me deserving of your hell. I’ve found when I am under your spell, in the mirror all I see is the reflection of a failed attempt.

I admit defeat. You win, addiction.

But the truth in that is it sets me free. I know you have all control of me, that in your grip, I lose everything. Awareness gives me the liberty of choice. The choice to live a life where your handicap does not exist. Where your power doesn’t make you a king, or a ruler of me. Where I don’t have to hide from the mirrors. Because the day holds a lot more hope when the mirror reflects beauty. That is who I know I am.

In that you wear defeat. I win.

I will not allow you to take that freedom from me, not again. You have snuck in many times, it’s really quite embarrassing. I have uncovered my light and it is much too bright to be smothered by shadows. The foundation I have built on the ground you left me laying has given me the start I needed to embrace my new beginning. To rid me of all things fear-driven.

I must give credit where credit’s due, there are so many things I also wouldn’t have today if not for you. I would never have learned that I am not to blame for the lack of love my mom could give me. I would not have thought it so important to take protect those around me. You were the flame that lit the fire ultimately uncovering my passion.

From the ashes of your demise, I did rise into who I was meant to be.

Never Yours,

Rayna P.

A letter to my addiction, to remind myself what I have to be proud of today but also to remember what I have to lose. As an addict it is imperative I always remember where I came from!!

Thank you, Spyder for the inspiration!!!

I would like to invite Christine Graves The Sober Vegan Yogi and M.T. Pariti to use the article above for inspiration to write something beautiful as you guys always do!!!

--

--

Rayna Pummel
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

A Recovering Addict, Mother of 2, 27 year old ♒ This is my experience, strength, and truth about my journey to untangling my mind. unscriptedwaywithwords.com