Dissonance

And I can’t hear you

--

Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

There’s a catalog in my mind,

of all the men I have been told about;

their chronicles of subtle good and repressed emotions.

They were your men but;

the familiarity with them feels as if they were mine.

And none of yours or of the world,

was ever mine.

None I set my heart on;

to be weaved under a spell,

and forsaken in the name of love.

I listened,

and then listened to some more.

But now my ears hurt,

and my tongue wishes to be untied.

Let me speak of him,

just listen.

It’s my time,

tell me nothing.

I wish to be blindfolded,

just the way you once were.

This is my moment of pleasurable discourse,

let me,

live through it.

And when you tell me I shall drown,

remember no fish is ever estranged from water.

--

--