Do You Remember Torture?

My Therapist’s Odd Question

Leah Welborn
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Original Image by the author

“Do you remember torture?”

It was an odd question to hear from my therapist, but then again, he’s kind of an odd bird. As am I.

I guess I’d been ruminating aloud about something he’d grown accustomed to me crying over — probably either childhood trauma or my seeming lack of ability to make money. Those are the recurring themes with which I struggle.

It’s so often the way, isn’t it? We go to our therapists (and/or our friends, family, etc) again and again with the same bit of cud. We chew it over and over, alone, then we go to them and stick out our tongue and say, “See! it’s still there!”

Things are a bit different with George, my therapist, than they have been with my previous therapists. He’s not one to observe rumination and not point it out.

George and I talk about traumas that occurred in my past lives, and about how it manifests now, in this life. I mentioned that George does things a little differently, didn’t I?

My Neck & My Past Life

--

--

Leah Welborn
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Empower Your Magical Self with me. I'm the Mystic Autistic, a writer and spiritual baddie. LeahWelborn.net.